The La Crosse Dive Unit is always looking for new members.  Candidates residing in La Crosse and the surrounding communities, interested in joining or wishing to make a donation to the La Crosse Dive Unit, can please send an e-mail for more information to:

Site Mngr
Powered by Squarespace

Serving the area since 1984.


The La Crosse Dive Unit is a non-profit organization. The all volunteer dive rescue unit has approximately 25 members including divers and non-divers. We are a volunteer dive unit for the La Crosse County Sheriff's Department whose functions are but not limited to Swift Water/Flood Rescue, Ice Rescue, Underwater Rescue and recovery & Vessel security services.


Front row (l to r): Jeffrey Jensky, Kevin Kappauf – Training Officer, Randy Rank – Operations Officer,

D. Marshall Quackenboss, Mark Smith – Equipment Officer, Kevin Hanson, and Brian Perry.

Back row: Alisha Saley, Megan Hess, Colleen Dady, Bill Faschingbauer, Byron Olmstead, Bud Lee - Communications Officer, Shawn Mahoney - Unit Leader, Al Ruege, Jennie Sauer - Funding Officer, Josh Hodgkinson, Andrew Thompson, Casey Stadler, and Jesse Smith.
Not pictured: Jack Haase, Steve Link, Mitch Lown - Personnel Officer, Jean Musgjerd, Ron Nedland, and Jordan Shackelton.

Honorary Members also not pictured: Erwin Chavarri, Elmer Grassman and Bill Powell